I Must Confess…

They say that confession is good for the soul. I don’t know who “they” are, and I am sure that is rooted in the scriptures that tell us to confess our sins to God. However in this post I am seeking to simply “confess” some trivial matters, perhaps you even find yourself doing the same things…then I won’t feel so silly!

I buy Sugarfree freezies…shhhhhh! Don’t tell the neighbourhood kids, most of them have no idea that what they eat at my house (and enjoy) are actually sugarless freezies…tee hee hee!

I dream that one day my home will have a main floor laundry room. I know it seems silly and I really don’t want it just to avoid the stairs (although that would be nice too) but the problem is actually that I forget to switch the clothes from the washer to the dryer, almost every time I do a load. So I confess, that sometimes I just add some soap and put the wash cycle through again. Of course, sometimes the clothes make it to the dryer but they don’t get pulled out and folded quick enough before getting wrinkled. So I will also confess that I will throw in a wet sock and dry them again, that usually gets rid of most of the wrinkles. I can’t stand ironing.

I add the last little bit of a nearly empty bottle of salad dressing to the next full bottle. Don’t worry though, we go through the ranch dressing like crazy so it doesn’t ever go bad, but I’m telling you I get tired of the bottles multiplying in the door of my fridge.

I still water down the juice my kids drink. And sometimes I even water down the juice I serve other kids in my home or elsewhere. There I said it. So sue me, I just think that the kids today have way too much sugar on a daily basis, and if they get a little bit more water in every glass, what’s the harm?

I use Jello No-Bake Cheesecake mix. Most people can’t tell the difference and I find that the no-bake mix tastes really nice and yet a little less heavy. Besides, the lighter it is, the more you can eat without feeling guilty!

I wonder sometimes if anyone else gets tired of finding tupperware containers in the back of the fridge with old leftovers? I can’t tell you how much I hate it when I just finish washing a load of dishes, only to find that my hubby has decided to de-clutter the fridge by dumping out all the leftovers and tossing the stinky dirty containers in the sink for me to wash. I confess, on my own, I often just leave the stuff in the fridge until I have the energy to wash them. I mean, at least in the fridge they won’t get yuckier, right?

I love taking the children to Canada’s Wonderland, Marineland, African Lion Safari or any other amusement park. I don’t know if it’s just the pure joy of watching how much the enjoy it, and sharing that experience with them or if deep down, I take them because I enjoy it. Either way the kids get to spend a fun day at the park and I love it, it’s a win-win! 

So one of my family’s favourite veggies is broccoli, especially with cheese sauce..mmmm. But I have to confess that I use cheese sauce mix from a package. My mom always made it from grated cheese and cream, but I never have much luck getting it to the same creamy consistency, and it takes a long time so I just use a mix. Well, as long as I’m at it, I might as well just admit that I use packaged gravy too.

Sometimes when the milk jug is almost done and I pick it up for a drink, I just drink it straight from the jug! I know, it’s so ghetto and unladylike, but the truth is, why should I have to wash another glass just to finish off the end of the bag of milk?

One of my favourite playdate activities with the children is to visit a local splashpad. I know, that’s not news to anyone who reads my blog, however I must confess the reason I love it so much. I love to let the kids play and run around where I can see them, but without me needing to chase around after  them. After years of holding their hands and helping them up and down on the slide etc. I love to be able to sit and chat with the other mom’s now that they can play unassisted. It’s true and if you still have little ones…don’t lose heart, your day is coming too!

I have something rather embarrassing to confess now, for anyone who has read some of my previous blog posts, this is especially difficult for me to admit. I have of late, found myself laughing at the Spongebob Squarepants television show. I know, it’s beyond hard to believe even for me. But the kids like it and I inevitably find myself in the room within earshot of the silliness, and on more than one occasion I have found myself laughing involuntarily. I am ashamed.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I agree with most things but I would be upset if you gave my kids sugar free foods. Sugar free chemicals are terrible and I would rather you just didn’t feed them at all.

    As far as laundry, I have don’t those things before. Now usually because it is my teens clothes and she for got to move them to the dryer.

    Reply

    • Posted by Lola on August 3, 2010 at 11:02 am

      I understand the thinking about the sugar free issue, but I don’t feed random children anything, I’m referring to children of my friends and usually the parents know the freezies are sugar free, only the children are fooled! I actually had a child tell me she loves my freezies better b/c her mom buys yucky sugar-free ones and “she knows the difference” ha ha ha

      Reply

  2. Posted by Linsey on August 1, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Is confession good for the soul? Do you feel better getting all of that off of your chest? Glad to know I am not the only one who runs the dryer just to get the wrinkles out.

    Reply

  3. Posted by mandy on August 1, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Now for your penance:
    Thou will wash one extra dish at each washing and thou must smile whilst doing so.
    Thou will chase after one such “little one” so the poor mother may sit and chat.
    The penance will be complete after two weeks.
    Go and be a blessing.
    🙂

    Reply

    • Posted by Lola on August 3, 2010 at 11:03 am

      How wonderful that I ONLY have to wash ONE extra dish at each wahing!! Whew! That will be such a relief…usually Ihave about 5-10 extra dishes!

      Reply

  4. Posted by Anita Cook on August 1, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I love it. I have done the same thing. But I used to buy the frozen juices and it always calls for 3 cans of water, I added another. Milk, I always made the powdered milk and added it to the 2%milk I bought which always stretched it a little further, although the tell tail sign is a milk mustashe, but the kids didn’t know, I’ve often forgotten to put the wet clothes into the dryer, and then re-wash them….you know what, you are a busy Mom, and you are enjoying your children. They grow up all to fast, and here I am wishing I could relive some of those days….but now I am a Grandma and loving it…doing some of the things I used to. God Bless you….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

