Summer Vacation Essentials

So of course as a stay-at-home-mother of two children, once the final school bell rings at the end of June, my life kicks into high gear. No more leisurely lounging on the sofa eating bon-bons all day watching soap operas. No NOW I actually have to work!! Ha ha that was for all you working folk who think that we SAHM’s do just that all day.

But seriously…summer vacation is in fact, anything BUT a vacation. Vacation from school means that we have to entertain our children all day long; keep them busy but not over stimulated, playing outside but not for too long b/c of the humidex level, spend quality time with them while teaching them to find things to do independently…the task is arduous for even the most hands on mom.

That is why I have compiled a list of things that I found absolutely imperative to have/do during the summer “vacation”…feel free to adopt any or all of my list, or leave a comment sharing you most essential item/activity during July and August.

The “I’m Bored Jar” – fun stuff, chores, homework practice, stuff you hate to do, anything it takes to get them to entertain themselves and not drive you crazy with the words every mom hates to hear “I’m Boredddddddddddd!” (I have to give a shout out to my friend Kristina for this great idea!)

The Air Conditioning – I’m not sure how people live without it, and make no mistake I am unbelievably blessed to have 3 and I try to maintain a spirit of gratitude every day I don’t pass out b/c I am sitting comfortably in my cool home!

The Good Book (or two) – aaahhhh I remember this time last year when I read several novels while away on vacation with hunny….I HAVE to make time to read, even at home with the kidlets. (Also a great thing to do at the splash pad!)

The Sunblock – Because nothing ruins your summer like blistering skin

The Guilty Pleasure – “Big Brother”, “So You Think You Can Dance” and this year’s new addition of episodic silliness,”Bachelor Pad”

The Cottage – I don’t have one, but I’m sure it makes the summer vacation that much better

The Quiet Time – Daily-after-lunch-one-hour-individual-quiet-time, an absolute necessity in our house. It doesn’t have to be every day, but certainly any day we are home and not out and about. They don’t have to sleep, but they do have to be quietly occupying themselves for one hour.

The Sidewalk Chalk and Bubbles – It’s incredible how kids of all ages can find the fun in these to simple and inexpensive toys.

The Half-Price Cinema – This is your chance to cool off, see a newly released movie (usually at half the price) and guaranteed that the kids will stop fighting for at least 90 minutes!

The Lopez Tonight Show – George Lopez doesn’t take a haitus in the summer so the laughs keep coming all season long! (Yeah I know I mention this guy in most of my blog posts, but it REALLY REALLY is the funniest show on tv!)

The Barbeque – Get out of the kitchen and grill dinner as much as possible! I especially love this one, b/c my hubby insists on doing ALL the barbequing, so it’s a win-win!

The Splash Pad – The beauty of most splash pads is that they are free for everyone to use no matter where you live. I have a particular friend who finds it hilarious that we go to other suburbs to find a splash pad where we can while away a sunny afternoon. Well “C”, until they put in a splash pad in my neighbourhood, I think we will continue to make use of them wherever we can. In fact I’ll be at one tomorrow morning, relaxing in my lawn chair with a cup of ice coffee chatting with a friend while the children run around and stay cool!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kristina on July 8, 2010 at 10:11 am

    Summer Reading Programs at your local library are a good source of entertainment, and keep them reading throughout the summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

