Funny Words I Love

As a Reader, Writer and general lover of words, I often come across words that catch my fancy. Whether they are interesting to say or quirky in their definitions, I have tucked them away in my mind (or brainstorming notes) with the idea of compiling a list to share with others. In short here are some of the words I love to use! Enjoy.

Cattywampus – def. askew, disarrayed, or disorderly. My Mother used to love to use this word to describe my daughters clothes, the table cloth, her own hair…really anything. It’s one of my favourite words to say, too bad we don’t hear it that often anymore.

Skullet  – def. a man formerly with a mullet but who is aging and losing hair on top. His hair is still long in back but it’s mostly just his skull showing on top. Not one that I find a use for in my everyday life, but I have to say it’s one of those neat words I have stored in the back of my mind waiting for just thr right occasion to brandish it!

Absquatulate – def. to depart in a hurry, to die or to abscond. I wish I could make my children “absquatulate” the house in the morning before I “absquatulate” from an embollism, or “absquatulate” their Wii as punishment for making me late!! ha ha ha excellent word!

Spoonerism – def. swapping the first or other sounds of words. This definition is not what it appears to be at first glance. One would find it in a sentence like;  “it is kisstomary to cuss the bride.” as opposed to “it is customary to kiss the bride”. Cool.

Scootch – def. to move a short distance. I thoroughly enjoy asking someone to “scootch over” instead of “move over”, it’s much more gratifying.

Aglet – def. the plastic tip at the end of a shoeless. I actually lost a job at a sports store because the manager conducting the interview asked if I knew what an “aglet” was. Since I didn’t, I didn’t get the job. Hm.

Diphthong – def. the combination of two vowel sounds in one syllable to form one speech sound, for example boil or meat. Regardless of the official definition it sounds painful to me.

Brouhaha – def. a hubbub or uproar. This word is so much fun to say, you almost want your day to be littered with chaos just so you can ask, “what’s with the brouhaha?” 

Scrumptious – def. describes a tasty food or individual. Can be used either to describe my hubby or cheesecake!

Logorrhea – def. From the Greek “log” (word) and the Latin “orrhea” (to shoot forcefully out of an orafice) comes this portmanteau which means to talk excessively. Colloquially referred to as “verbal diarrhea”.

Discombobulate – def. to confuse or frustrate. Sometimes being a Mom just makes me feel all “discombobulated”!

Blamps – def. a wicked combination of bloating and cramps. Not sure who invented this word…I’m guessing it was a woman…?

Flummox- def. to confuse or bewilder about something. If I hadn’t checked the dictionary, I would be certain that this was a Dr.Suess invention…great word nonetheless!

Floccinaucinihilipilification – def. the act of judging something to be worthless.  I haven’t the foggiest idea how to pronounce this incredible word, but I won’t rest until I figure it out.           

Kerfuffle – def. another word for an altercation. I like the way thins one rolls of the toungue…much more interesting than calling something an “altercation”, don’t you think?

Cankle – def. the lack of articulation between some individual’s calves and ankles. Of course I have an intimate understanding of this condition, reinforced every time I attempt to zip up my knee high boots. 😉

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linsey on February 5, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Nice list! I’m inspired to make my own list to show you. We will have to work on how to say the floccinau… word when we see each other!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patricia on February 5, 2010 at 9:33 am

    THIS IS SO FUNNY, I love it…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

